Message from the Chair

I would like to begin by thanking our executive team made up of executive assistants Michelle Ford and Sophie Uden and CEO Scott Sanbrook.

It is also with a heavy heart that we bid farewell to Sophie after 4 years with Committee 4 Wagga. Sophie has a passion and energy that is hard to rival. She has worked effortlessly aside Scott and Michelle, pulling together programs, design elements, spreadsheets, events and many more duties that often go unnoticed but are never unappreciated. On behalf of Scott, Michelle, and the board of management, thank you Sophie and best of luck with your future adventures.

What a year! Seriously, didn't I just write this Chair report a few weeks ago? It certainly feels like it.

I always love to give a snapshot of our activities and initiatives for the year but it will be impossible to include them all, particularly when you count the amazing work some of our key members have done within the community too.

Here are a handful of highlights this year:

- We joint-hosted the Telstra Cocktail function in February at The Magpies Nest allowing our members to meet and network with Telstra's CEO, Vicki Brady who hails from Holbrook
- Also, in February we launched the 2023 Wagga School Leaders Program with 14 students representing 6 local high schools who would go onto graduate in August
- In March we co-hosted and organised with Corporate Member Region Riverina and new C4W members The Streaming Guys, the State Election Candidate Debate for the seat of Wagga
- We also partnered with Training Services NSW in March to launch the Made for a Trade program at Mercure with a packed house and I'm happy to say what has turned out to be a successful program with 8 schools involved and 38 graduates from the program
- In May we hosted the first of our six monthly Welcome to Wagga events at the Murrumbidgee Turf Club with the second being held in November

- Met with the Hon. Jenny Atchison and Dr Joe McGirr in July about the Murrumbidgee River second crossing and Marshall's Creek bridge upgrade postponement. This meeting led to the cancellation of traffic lights being installed at Travers Street and the budget reallocated towards Marshall's Creek bridge widening and a business case for the Gobba Bridge duplication
- In August we hosted the Telstra Wagga Wagga Beyond 2050 with over 100 delegates at the Riverina Playhouse which has resulted in a number of relationships being created between local businesses and some of our dynamic presenters, as well as having the first ever glimpse of an EV vertical take-off and landing vehicle in Wagga Wagga
- In November we hosted the first of our local housing summits with the Designing a Future breakfast forum at the Riverine Club with event partner PRD Real Estate and Designing a Legacy's Tim "Rosso" Ross with plans for a second forum in 2024
- We also launched the 2022-2023 Land Monitor Report with RDA Riverina and HIA Wagga in December.

I would like to personally thank each member of the Board of Management who volunteer their time to Committee 4 Wagga and ask nothing in return.

Our Board Members are:

- Vice-chair Richard Pottie from Ladex
- Secretary Samantha Beresford of Charles Sturt University
- Treasurer Matthew Moloney of WDF Accountants + Advisory
- Nick Abraham of CBA (Assistant Treasurer)
- Scott Braid of Wagga Motors
- Richard Allsopp of Rundles
- Rebecca Hardy of Enirgi
- Glenn Cox of ANZ
- Tania Contogeorge of Sureway Employment and Training
- Peter Braneley of Big Springs Water

Thank you to our Board.

Finally thank you to our members. Without your support there would be no Committee 4 Wagga championing issues that matter to all of us. C4W will continue to work with other community leaders and stakeholders to ensure Wagga remains the best and most liveable regional city in Australia.

I look forward to welcoming onboard some new members of the board of management as we will have some new positions made available by our outgoing members Scott Braid and Matthew Moloney (11 years), and Tania Contogeorge (3 years). To Matthew, Scott and Tania – thank you for your commitment to Committee 4 Wagga during your tenure. We appreciate the time, effort, and dedication to the community you have made by being an integral part of the C4W team.

I write this before knowing who will be elected to the new positions, but I can say that all candidates represent the very best of Wagga's business leaders and I am excited for what the future holds.

For an organisation that is 100% member funded and with a completely volunteer board, I could not be prouder of the achievements C4W has made over the last 12 months. It is a huge commitment of time and energy, often away from our own businesses, and I can't thank everyone enough for their efforts. Have a wonderful Christmas and new year period and I look forward to seeing you again in 2024.



Adam Drummond Chairperson

